Review: Essence longlasting lipsticks


Hello everyone!

I don’t know about you ladies, but as much as I love the idea of lip products, I seem to have a love/hate relationship with them. First of all, I eat everything I put on my lips with the speed of light…meaning by the time I have to be at the place where I am supposed to show off my pretty-coloured lips, most of it is gone.

When I was younger, I always felt uncomfortable wearing lipstick because it looked too bright and it somehow made me look older. I did have a few lip glosses, but the problem I had with those was the sticky factor. Glue on my lips…thanks, but, no thanks!!! In the end, I gave up and switched to using lip balms only. I have one from “Rose of Bulgaria” currently, and I love it! I have also never been let down by the Libello lip balms.

As I became older though, the itch to try the lipstick business again grew. Nowadays, there is so much to choose from, it can make your head spin. Anyway, I tried some brands like Maybelline, L’Oreal and NYX, and I re-discovered my fascination with lipsticks.

Along this line, Essence recently released a new line of longlasting lipsticks. I had never tried Essence lipsticks before, so that was a good excuse to run to the local drugstore :). The Essence longlasting lipsticks come in 10 different autumn-friendly colours and cost €2,39 a piece. My collection of those now comes up to 5:

Image

The packaging is really well-done, very classic – black but still informative enough of the colour inside. There is a cute “e” on top:

Image

Sorry, I forgot to take a photo of that, but the “e” print is also on the lipstick itself, which I really liked too. It’s a nice touch 🙂 Great job dear people from Essence!

The colours I have are:

Image

As you can see, each has a name too, some even with an exclamation mark..not just a boring number! Below, are the swatches in the same order, as on the photo above:

Image

Next I will show you how each looks on the lips:

#01 Coral calling: a nice, bright coral-peachy colour

Image

#06 Barely There! is a browny-neutral colour, very mature looking:

Image

#07 Natural Beauty, somehow looks the same as Barely There on the photo but in real life Barely There is darker. Natural Beauty really looks very natural and soft, almost the same shade as my lips:

Image

#08 Colour Crush is a pretty pink fuchsia coloured lipstick, not super intense, but still very bright:

Image

#09 Wear Berries! And last but not least, probably my personal favourite, a lovely purple berry shade for you lips. A lot of purple lipsticks make me look like a character from The Walking Dead, but this one is simply gorgeous:

Image

The lipsticks are not very very longlasting, BUT!!! they feel lovely on my lips. They don’t dry them out, like a lot of other lipsticks do. On the contrary, I feel them moisturized.

All in all, I really love these babies and do not regret having half of the collection…in fact, I should just probably get the rest too!

What is your experience with the Essence longlasting lipsticks and what’s your favourite colour?

Have a splendid weekend!!!

10 thoughts on “Review: Essence longlasting lipsticks

    • Задължително се почерпи с едно червилце, аз лично съм много доволна, особено предвид цената!
      Ах, това ми е първият таг! Благодаря много! Ще се пробвам, да видя само как става 🙂

  1. Pingback: Easy daytime makeup looks, with colour!!! Chapter 5/ Outfit of the Day | longlivemakeup

  2. I’ve got just Barely there, it is nice dark nude shade, sometimes I feel like it is too dark for me, but, sometimes I like it, it depends…
    I’d like to get Wear berries, On the catwalk, Dare to be nude, Natural beauty and Coral calling, but I see, I’ll get some more shades, too ahaha..
    They look really nice on you, and yeah, you’re right, Wear berries suits you most! 🙂

    • I have the same feeling with Barely There..a bit dark, but on occasion I like it. Natural Beauty is awesome, the perfect nude for everyday! I find myself using it very often.

      Actually, all the shades of this collection are gorgeous 🙂

  3. Pingback: Update on my review of the Essence longlasting lipsticks featuring some new shades!!! | longlivemakeup

  4. I own Coral Calling and I love it. Mostly because it’s cheap (here in Singapore it’s $5, which is literally the cheapest I have ever seen), good and it’s pretty much the microwave of lipstick – use it to tint my lips when I’m just hanging out with friends for a more pulled-together look, or use more when I have to dress up.

    • Thanks for you comment :)! It is one of my fav and most used shades too 🙂 I own a whole lot of this line of lipsticks because I do love the formula too, besides the colours.

Leave a Reply

